Does having an amateur wrestling background lead to professional wrestling success?

Scotty

I have a PHD in Horribleness
Think about it. Most of the wrestlers who have had amateur wrestling backgrounds have gone onto immense success in the squared circle. Just stop and listen as I argue my point.

Bret "The Hitman" Hart was an amateur wrestler. He is regarded as one of the best technical wrestlers ever. He was successful in both aspects of wrestling, amateur and professional. Can all of his success be attributed to his amateur wrestling background? No. A lot of his success came from training at the Dungeon with his father, but it would be unfair to say that none of it came from amateur wrestling.

Kurt Angle was an Olympic Gold Medalist wrestler. I'd say that it is safe to assume that the majority of his success was from having a vast amount of amateur wrestling experience.

Brock Lesnar. The man was a freak both in amateur and professional wrestling. He was 33-0 in his senior year in high school and finished college with a record of 106-5. Not to mention that he was a powerhouse who was WWE Champion within 6 months of his WWE debut. Can some of that success be attributed to having an amateur background? You decide.

The All American American Jack Swagger. The man had nothing going for him except bragging about being a two time All-American amateur wrestler at Oklahoma University. It can be argued that the success Jack Swagger experienced at the collegiate level is the reason that he even has a job in the WWE. He was contacted by Jim Ross for those who do not know.

Then you have people such as Shelton Benjamin and Dolph Ziggler. they may not be main event level yet, but some seem to believe that they are on their way. They very well could be, if they could just find that key component to go with their athletic ability.

I am not saying that it is the only reason they are where they are, but I think we all agree that it helps.