Before They Were "Entertainers"

IrishCanadian25

Going on 10 years with WrestleZone
In my opinion, the best professional wrestlers from the perspective of "in-ring work" are those who had a successful amateur wrestling career and parlayed it into the professional world, learning how to be an "entertainer" and to "draw money." Some make the transition better than others. This thread is dedicated to discussing the amateur careers of several legends of the ring.

For a little background, I was an amateur wrestler for 3 years in high school and 1 year in college. I always find myself cheering for the names below a little harder, because I know what they've gone through and because I empathize with them.

Kurt Angle is obvious. For this reason, Kurt's autobiography was thus far my absolute favortie. Kurt first stepped on the mats at age 6, and never looked back. From the steel-worker rich streets of Pittsburgh, PA, Kurt went undefeated as a Frosh at Mt. Lebanon HS, and won his first State Championship as a senior in 1987. For those who don't know, Pennsylvania is perrenially one of the top-5 High School Wrestling states in the US (PA, NY, NJ, OH, Minn.) and wrestling at Pennsylvania High Schools is akin to HS football in Texas. Read a great book called "Wrestling Sturbridge" to learn more.

Angle went on to Clarion University, and became a 3-time All-American, winning 2 National NCAA Titles and taking 2nd place once. I canot underscore just how hard that truly is. To learn more about it, watch the film "Vision Quest."

While everyone focuses on Angle's 1996 Gold Medal win in the Olympics, Angle won the Wrestling World Championship in 1995 as well, which is just as hard as olympic gold. Angle trained under the great Dave Schultz, who would shortly thereafter be murdered by one of Angle's school mates in a wrestling tragedy that is still felt today.