Why you can't market the WWE directly to kids....

SilverBullet1929

Dark Match Winner
I've been dying to get this off my chest so here it goes... First off I've noted before that I'm an elementary school teacher. When I find kids who are wrestling fans I let them know that I am too and at times I bounce ideas off them. Besides being a wonderful way to get them to behave (lol), this is an amazing way to get a large sampe size of kid's opinions, thoughts, knowledge, and attitudes towards wrestling. I've learned a lot through these kids but sadly the bottom line is that its also taught me why you can't market wrestling and the WWE towards young children. So let me give you a few stories and quotes and feel free to discuss. FYI, I'm targeting elementary school kids between ages 4-11.

First off, kids don't have a clue what they want in life. You ask a kid what they want for breakfast and many would be happy with a bowl of Skittles. Kids are wonderful creatures but their decision making skills aren't developed enough to make every decision a correct one.

One day in 2009 I'm talking with a kid who tells me he HATES Randy Orton and the Legacy. Why? Because Orton, Rhodes, and DiBiase all wrestle in there UNDERWEAR! GASP! So the kid HATES Legacy because their attire reminds him of his undies! Well then I ask this young boy which wrestler he does like? His answer? Triple H! ...I ask the kid "Um, but doesn't Triple H wrestle in his underwear too?" ...the kid stares at me blankly. He hasn't said a word to me since that day.