Why Didn't WCW Have A Royal Rumble?

The Brain

King Of The Ring
I have been wondering something lately so I’d like to ask your opinions. The Royal Rumble is coming up and even though this match is over 20 years old I have never come across anyone who doesn’t like it or thinks it has grown stale. Given the popularity of the rumble I can’t help but wonder why WCW never did this. Here’s what I came up with.

Is it possible WWE has some sort of copyright on the rumble match? Of course the name Royal Rumble is copyrighted but could that copyright extend to the match itself? Is there some legal reason that prevented WCW from doing that match under another name? I’m no law expert, but I wouldn’t think such a thing would be able to be copyrighted.

Maybe the two companies were honoring some sort of unwritten rule about stealing each other’s matches. I used the rumble as an example but you could say the same thing for War Games or any other gimmick match. Did they just have an agreement not to infringe on each other’s ideas? Maybe it was an unwritten rule in the business. It seems unlikely considering the other tactics that were used. WWE put the first Survivor Series on ppv the same night as Starrcade in 1987 and threatened whatever cable company carried Starrcade would not have the right to show WrestleMania IV. Years later WCW announced WWE results live on Nitro before the matches aired on Raw. Each company has stooped pretty low to hurt the competition in the past so I doubt some sort of unwritten rule would exist.

The only other thing I can think of is by stealing the other’s idea a company would admit that their competition is more creative than they are. If WCW did a Royal Rumble match in 1993 they would be accused of stealing a WWF idea because they couldn’t come up with an idea as good. It may seem petty but given the people involved I could see that being the case.

So what do you guys think? Why didn’t we see a WCW Royal Rumble or a WWF War Games?