AladdinSane's Graphics

Status
Not open for further replies.

Daniel

Of Ace Stevens fame.
Hey, so I thought it was time to do a thread. I'm a photographer really, but I saw you sig makers and I was really jealous of the stuff you have done so I thought i'd give graphics a go. I've been using GIMP for around four days now, i've found it to be quite user-unfriendly compared to Photoshop, but it's all I have at the moment.

Oh, and i'm not looking to show off, i'd really like advice, criticism, tips and tricks.

This one is the first graphic I made. It's of my favourite comedian and a bit of a hero of mine, Bill Hicks. I borrowed the phrase on it from another image I saw of him, however, they are different graphics. Like I said, the graphic is very simple. The background is one image to which I added the text and border. The words 'american' and 'hero' have a striped background (I would have like to have given them an American flag background but I didn't know how to do it). I gave motion blur to the word 'fucking' to make it a bit more interesting.

BillHicks.jpg

So this is the second one I did. It's of Lucky Cannon, obviously. I used the blending tool to do the silver background. I then put in a picture of Mark Henry and made it more transparent so he would blend into the background. The text was originally black, but I used the lighting tool to make the words lighter. Finally, I put in the star of the show, Lucky Cannon and a simple border.

LuckyCannon.jpg