The GIMP Sig-Making Guide Thread

Do you want to know how to make sigs but you don't have Photoshop? Did you download Gimp as a replacement for Photoshop? Are you now completely confused by Gimp and need some help making sigs with the application? If you answered yes to all of the above, this is the place for you. The following is a guide on making sigs using Gimp. (Disclaimer: I use a Mac and I am new to Gimp, but I have a pretty decent understanding of the program.)

Step 1. Background
First thing first, lets get some good brushes. For brushes, go here and make sure that your filter is set to "all time" and "most popular". I would suggest going through a few pages and downloading all of the grunge brushes and fractal brushes. Once you download your new brushes, you need to find the Gimp folder on your computer and put the new brushes in the brushes folder that exists in the gimp folder.
When you open up Gimp, make sure that the size is in regulation with the WZ rules (no side longer than 500 pixels and not over 800 pixels total). I will be using 480x300.

Depending on what color you want to make your background, you can choose what color you want to start off with. I usually start off with white or black, but you can start off with whatever color you want. I will be starting off with black. From here, just mess around with brushes, using a combination, different sizes, and different colors. Make sure to play around with the opacity of the brushes to make certain colors stick out more. Also play with the scale of the brush because some brushes will only make a solid line when you make stroke with it. In that case, make the brush big and just make one dot with the brush.

28i5jk1.jpg