• Xenforo Cloud has scheduled an upgrade to XenForo version 2.2.16. This will take place on or shortly after the following date and time: Jul 05, 2024 at 05:00 PM (PT) There shouldn't be any downtime, as it's just a maintenance release. More info here

I'm No Lawyer But...

Low_Ki

Former WZCW Tag Team Champion
Has anyone else noticed how TNA is pretty much ripping off some ex-WCW/WWE theme music?

The Wolfpac theme is the most obvious rip off, but others have distinct similarities. Hogan's is a blatent rip of the original nWo theme, and also Ken Anderson's theme sounds kind of familiar to his WWE theme.

My question is, surely there is a lawsuit there as the WWE owns the copyrights to the nWo, the Wolfpac and of course Mr Kennedy's theme. Could the WWE sue if they wanted? What are your thoughts?

It has been said multiple times around here that music is being stolen from entities in the past.

However, strictly, there is no rule against it. These are called "Jimmy Hart versions" and they are not illegal. For some reason, if you play the song in a different key and there is enough variation in the way it is played, then there is no legal issue. It is a very strange rule but is very true. Make no mistake that WWE would be screwing TNA to the wall right now if the versions were the exact same. In fact, I don't think there is anything that Vince would love more.

However, as I say, TNA are fine from a legal standpoint. Ethically though, it seems a little bit sketchy but of course they are going to try and capitalize on the fame that the competitors had before, they would be silly not to.

Happens all the time. Booker T's TNA theme was the same as his WWE theme, just faster and higher pitched. Christian's TNA theme was basically an intrumental version of Just Close Your Eyes by Waterproof Blonde you might not agree with that one, but I can hear it to a certain extent. There are MANY MANY more.