Best NFL 1st Pick

Mr. TM

Throwing a tantrum
As the Draft season has just given NFL fans something to look forward to as the new players have the chance to show the team why they were drafted, the biggest expectations always fall on the guy drafted #1.

Out of the dozens and dozens drafted, counting Sam Bradford who was picked first this year, who was the best for his team?

I'm pretty new to the sport, but I think I pick Peyton Manning. Since he started playing, the Indy Colts have been a favourite to win the Super Bowl for years, each and every year. He has had fantastic ratings as a quarterback, and despite the Colts being considered choke artists for the most part, he is always there to get his team to the post season, and has won a Superbowl.

1936 Jay Berwanger
1937 Sam Francis
1938 Corbett Davis
1939 Ki Aldrich
1940 George Cafego
1941 Tom Harmon
1942 Bill Dudley
1943 Frank Sinkwich
1944 Angelo Bertelli
1945 Charley Trippi
1946 Frank Dancewicz
1947 Bob Fenimore
1948 Harry Gilmer
1949 Chuck Bednarik
1950 Leon Hart
1951 Kyle Rote
1952 Bill Wade
1953 Harry Babcock
1954 Bobby Garrett
1955 George Shaw
1956 Gary Glick
1957 Paul Hornung
1958 King Hill
1959 Randy Duncan
1960 Billy Cannon
1961 Tommy Mason
1962 Ernie Davis
1963 Terry Baker
1964 Dave Parks
1965 Tucker Frederickson
1966 Tommy Nobis
1967 Bubba Smith
1968 Ron Yary
1969 O.J. Simpson
1970 Terry Bradshaw
1971 Jim Plunkett
1972 Walt Patulski
1973 John Matuszak
1974 Ed "Too Tall" Jones
1975 Steve Bartkowski
1976 Lee Roy Selmon
1977 Ricky Bell
1978 Earl Campbell
1979 Tom Cousineau
1980 Billy Sims
1981 George Rogers
1982 Kenneth Sims
1983 John Elway
1984 Irving Fryar
1985 Bruce Smith
1986 Bo Jackson
1987 Vinny Testaverde
1988 Aundray Bruce
1989 Troy Aikman
1990 Jeff George
1991 Russell Maryland
1992 Steve Emtman
1993 Drew Bledsoe
1994 Dan Wilkinson
1995 Ki-Jana Carter
1996 Keyshawn Johnson
1997 Orlando Pace
1998 Peyton Manning
1999 Tim Couch
2000 Courtney Brown
2001 Michael Vick
2002 David Carr
2003 Carson Palmer