"Slavery Is Over, Just Drop It"

IrishCanadian25

Going on 10 years with WrestleZone
There is a terrific (and rather heated) debate going on in the WWE section on whether or not the WWE's push of black wrestlers has come to an end. And in the course of that discussion, one statement has come up that I have heard a few times already in a few different places.

"Slavery is over."

"Get over it, slavery ended over 100 years ago."

"I don't know a black slave."

"I don't know a white slave owner."

Now while the fact that the legal definition of slavery has been outlawed for a great deal of time as a result of The Emancipation Proclamation, racism has existed in many forms since this most egregious, pre-Civil War time.

To say that the majority - white males - owe nothing to minorities because slavery and segregation is over is to ignore some glaring statistics. Bear in mind, I work in Human Resources for a living, so these stats are very important in my line of work.

Take this example. Let's say a White Male worked a job for $50,000 per year in the United States of America. Listed below are the average wages that each different demographic was being paid:

Black Male = $36,050

Hispanic Male = $28,750

White Female = $36,750

Black Female = $31,800

Hispanic Female = $25.850

This is based off of the median annual earnings for each demographic, from statistics put together by the US Department of Labor.

It's no secret that white males and paid more than females, blacks, and hispanics, and that minority females are especially handicapped. Now, seeing these numbers, how much do you feel racism has truly dissipated? And do you honestly feel racism is over simply because slavery and segregation have ended?