Is The WWE Determined To Rewrite History?

Dave

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
This is a thought that I have been mulling over for a few months now and I don't think it has ever been so apparent.

It all started with a Beast and a Deadman. For me, the streak should never have been broken. That piece of history meant more to wrestling fans than Championship reigns do these days. 21 people before Brock stepped up and 21 people went down to The Undertaker. I do appreciate the need for the Streak to mean something in the long term and it has certainly taken Brock Lesnar to a whole new level of dominance. For me though, it was the start of a worrying trend in the WWE where nothing is sacred and everything is do-able.

The next one to rise to the peak of my interest was The New Day's Tag Championship reign that put Demolition into second spot by 5 whole days. I don't believe that either team are the best teams that have ever been but I simply cannot buy that New Day were worth that accomplishment.

John Cena was the next one up in the new trend of the WWE trying to go one better than what was before. He recently equalled Ric Flair's total of 16 Championship reigns. Which, you could argue, was a great accomplishment for a man who has given everything to the WWE. But you'll have to go some to convince me that John Cena is half the wrestler that the Nature Boy was. And, it must be said, you're crazy if you don't think that John Cena will get another run with the belt before he rides off to Hollywood.

The Miz, too, is probably going to be the IC Champion with the most reigns. Jericho is a legend in the WWE and in wrestling. He is an industry icon with the pedigree to boot. The Miz, as much as I like the work he does, came from an MTV show and , somehow, managed to make it work. I have absolutely no doubt in my mind that he will pass Jericho before too long.