Do Fans Have the Right to Criticize Wrestling?

Harthan

Sic Semper Tyrannosaurus
Austin Aries made an interesting tweet the other day:

Austin Aries said:
Dear "smart" fans: I hate the term "botch". It's overused. Usually by ones who'd "botch" simply tying the boots of us who actually do this.

To which Brandon Stroud of With Leather responded:

Brandon Stroud said:
Dear Austin Aries: As a writer, I hate people who use quotation marks to be condescending. Stop writing and we'll call it even.

To which Aries retaliated:

Austin Aries said:
And actually, what you call being a "writer" I call being an "uninformed opinionist".

This was an interesting exchange to me, because it revealed some interesting viewpoints on both sides of the fence. Not that I mean to project Aries's apparent viewpoints onto all wrestlers, but one can certainly imagine he's not the only person in wrestling with the idea that writers (and, by extension, fans) are uninformed and therefore unjustified in their attempt to criticize wrestling.

The argument that Aries is making is founded on one of the most infuriating and annoying arguments that gets made - because someone has never done something, they have no credibility in their attempt to criticize them. We hear this argument in other arenas. Sometimes when a journalist criticizes a football player's performance, they might respond by arguing that the journalist has never played football. If someone hears someone sing poorly and criticizes them, they are sometimes childishly asked to "do better", with the implication being that if you can't sing, you can't criticize anyone else for poor singing. This is an argument that I think most are familiar with.