Album and Concert Review Thread

Slyfox696

Excellence of Execution
Use this thread to share your experience with different bands at concerts. Have a good time? Thought the band sucked? Tell us about it. Help your fellow posters make good decisions when deciding to see them or not.

As for me, I'm still a relative rookie when it comes to concerts, which means two things. One, I don't have much base for comparisons, and two, my list will be fairly quick.

1. Tool (June 2007) - Without a doubt, the best concert I've been to. The sound was phenomenal, the laser light show was captivating, the band was on fire, and the whole thing left me in an orgasmic state of mind for the next three days. I would recommend the concert to any and everyone, no matter how far you have to travel to see it. The best concert I've ever been to. It was also the first concert I ever attended, so I got a little spoiled.

On a side note, their opening band was called "Melt Banana". They were awful. People literally left the arena to stand outside in the concession area until Tool started. No more needed to be said. They did have a hell of a guitarist though.

2. Hurt (Feb. 2008) - The band that sings "Ten Ton Brick". I thought they were a GREAT opening act. They were into it, the band sounded good, and the lead singer has a tremendous voice live. He also plays a mean fiddle. I was a casual listener to Hurt before the concert, and after the concert I bought both of their CDs that night. That's how much I enjoyed them. They aren't a main-event yet, but a solid opening act.