So I Saw Avatar

klunderbunker

Welcome to My (And Not Sly's) House
And the first thing I thought when I left was Ferngully in Space.

The plot is so cookie cutter and basic that it blew my mind. You see a guy fairly early on and in my head instead of his lines I heard "Hello. My name is Completely Inconsequential. I'm a stereotypical military guy and I'll be your ruthless yet completely beatable villain for the next two and a half hours." Those are my major issues: the characters are flatter than a preteen girl and the plot is as cookie cutter as well cut cookies made using a cookie cutter. I compared it to Star Wars, which at its time blew away box office records and visual effects standards. At the end of the original SW, I want to cheer when the Death Star blows up. Here I was more or less waiting for it to end as the last hour and a half is completely predictable. Yes, the visuals blow away any and everything else ever made, but at nearly 3 hours, they stop losing their flare about halfway in and the weak plot makes this limp into the finish. There's also a plot hole that had me trying to figure it out for a good part of the end and I could only chalk it up to James Cameron messing up.

Now onto the good stuff.

This movie is absolutely AMAZING LOOKING. WHile it has its holes and issues, the look on its own carries this thing with ease. I saw the 3D version and it makes the movie. At times I would slip the glases off and it still looked good, but once they went back on you're completely sucked into the looks and sounds and you're gone for the rest of the time.