Roger Ebert, Dead at 70

The 1-2-3 Killam

Mid-Card Championship Winner
NPR said:
Ebert had been wrestling with cancer for years. Over his life, he was treated for salivary gland cancer, thyroid cancer and cancer of the jawbone. In 2006, Ebert lost his jaw and with it, his ability to talk, but he still kept up an unrelenting pace, reviewing more than 200 movies a year for the paper and keeping up an admired digital presence. On his blog and on twitter, he chronicled his struggle with cancer and just two days ago, he penned a post saying he was taking a "leave of presence."

Ebert was 70.

As a Chicagoan, as a lover of the movies, and as a writer I am deeply saddened by the loss of Roger Ebert. Quite possibly the greatest film critic the world has ever, or will ever seen. Growing up in Chicagoland and reading his reviews and commentary in the Sun Times were the reasons I got into movies in the first place. Studying his writing style and critiquing methods are what got me into reviewing things.

R.I.P.

One of the few critics who i always liked to read. Plus he's a wrestling fan(At least he said he was in his review of the Wrestler).

Damn. Really saddened by this.

Ebert is the only critic I pay attention to 100% of the time, and I have a few of his books (always loved the one on Scorsese). Didn't follow the recent series of events closely, but I Knew something was wrong, when other guest critics started posting reviews on his site, and Richard Roeper took over by reviewing the major mainstream releases.

RIP.

Sad news. As a casual movie goer, Ebert was the only movie critic that I could name off the top of my head if put on the spot. I knew he had cancer, but I am still kind of shocked by this.

Truly, he and Gene Siskel are sitting at the Pearly Gates, filling in for St. Peter while he's on a smoke break, giving people two big thumbs up as they enter. Speaking as a fan of movies, it is the only way this can be justified.