Joss Whedon To Direct The Avengers

Scotty

I have a PHD in Horribleness
Whedonites and Marvel fanboys the world over are experiencing paralysing nerdgasms at the news that Joss Whedon, creator of Buffy and Firefly, is set to direct the big screen version of Marvel Comics’ Avengers.

Marvel Studios is finalizing a deal for Whedon to helm the project that Iron Man, The Incredible Hulk and forthcoming films Thor and Captain America are geared towards. Whedon is also to rewrite the existing screenply by Zak Penn (Elektra, X-Men: The Last Stand).

As the creator of Buffy the Vampire Slayer and Firefly, Whedon’s cult following is already mahoosive, and he has also been involved in superhero fare previously, working on he script for Bryan Singer’s X-Men, writing a run on the comic Astonishing X-Men and struggling to get the long-awaited Wonder Woman movie off of the ground.

The fact that Whedon is a fan of the characters ingratiates him to a large majority of the fanboy crowd and would seem like a very canny move on Marvel’s part. That and the fact that he works extremely well with ensemble casts is promising. What do you think of this development? Does it bode well for the future of the Avengers?

The Avengers will star Robert Downey Jr. as Iron Man, Chris Evans as Captain America, Chris Hemsworth as Thor, Samuel L. Jackson as Nick Fury and hopefully Edward Norton as the Hulk. It’s set to be released on May 4, 2012.

Dewey mark out in 3...2...1...

Eh...could be good. Better be a whole fuckin' lot better than Dollhouse though. Whedon seems to be losing his touch.

His work on Astonishing X-men was awesome though. A shame Marvel doesn't have the rights to make those movies. This could be good.

Firstly, X, I love you but Dollhouse was A-Fuckin'-Mazing!

Secondly:

OH MY MOTHER FUCKING GOD! I just creamed my jeans, and am hopeful to see the ever so gorgeous Amy Ackler and Eliza Dushku, one or the other...