• Xenforo Cloud has scheduled an upgrade to XenForo version 2.2.16. This will take place on or shortly after the following date and time: Jul 05, 2024 at 05:00 PM (PT) There shouldn't be any downtime, as it's just a maintenance release. More info here

How do you think the world began?

Tastycles

Turn Bayley heel
As I'm sure none of you remember, my degree is in Astrophysics and Philosophy of Science. Anyway, for my dissertation, I am looking at various theories for how the universe began. What I've noticed is that back in the day, the theories were either that a god, some gods or a godlike thing made one universe like this on purpose or that there are a lot of universes either in space or time with different laws and one of them happened to be suitable for us to live in. Nowadays, we have those two ideas as well as the simplistic there's one that happened by chance.

I don't wish to bore you with any more detail, so I'll leave it there, but I am interested in what other people think. If it's interesting, I'll use it in my dissertation. Maybe. So, how do you believe the universe began? Try to be as specific as possible. If you think God did it, do you mean he instigated a big bang, a literal Genesis creation, or what? If you think it was a purely scientific one, why do you believe it was so perfectly tuned to the universe - if some physical quantities changed by 0.0000000000000000000000000000000001%, then the Universe would have either immediately imploded or it would have torn itself apart. So what, or who, made it possible for us to be like we are today. It doesn't matter if you're shit at physics, I'd just like to know how everyone believes it all began.