Has Virginia Tech slowly been taking over The National PowerHouse from Miami?

TNA cross the line

Pre-Show Stalwart
OK im going to go ahead and tell you guys that i am from VA and I am a Virginia Tech homer so keep that in mind while reading because i may just be biased on the subject.

Over the past 15-16 years we have seen The University of Miami slowly dwindle from a national powerhouse to just one of the teams in the mediocre ACC. Whilst Virginia Tech has rose to prominece and imo is a National Powerhouse with 7 straight 10+wins season's and 4 ACC championships. Even though we are 1-26 against top 5 teams. :banghead::wtf: The funny thing is the one win was against #2 Miami in 2003.

On December 20, 1995 the NCAA announced that Miami would be subject to severe sanctions for numerous infractions within the athletic department. Among the sanctions was a one-year ban from postseason participation and a scholarship reduction of 31 over a three year period beginning in 1996.
Meanwhile in Blacksburg Frank Beamer is putting in place key components for a national powerhouse in the making which started after 1993 VT's last losing season. I think Miami's NCAA troubles in the mid 1990s helped VT's rise in College football.

Since 1996 The Virginia Tech vs Miami series is 10-5 in favor of VT. Since 1995 VT has had 7 Conference titles, Miami has only had four in the same time frame. I just think the swagger, the it factor, and the mojo that used to be THE U... Has been taken by The Fighting Gobblers of Virginia Tech.

And now with the latest NCAA investigation do you guys think VT has passed Miami completely and now The U will never catch back up? Do u guys think VT would have risen without any penalties against The U? Or would have VT never have stood a chance had Miami never been hit with sanctions in 1996?

Please Discuss...

HOKIE HOKIE HOKIE HI TECH TECH VPI!