Constructive Criticism needed

Hyorinmaru

Sit Upon The Frozen Heavens
After doing my reviews for a little over 2 months and branching off into Video Games as well I'm wondering what everyone thinks of my reviewing style.

I'm not a professional by any means just a guy with an opinion who loves to write his reviews so I'm sure there are there are things i can improve.

I read through some, and something that was a consistent thought was how personal it felt reading. Of course it is your review and own unique experience, but I feel it hinders the message you're trying to convey. It's vulnerable in a sense and in general I have had readers find fault in me with that. Early on I had been reviewing music and had been criticized of similar. The thing is it's not really a problem and more of a mistake on capitalizing on your strengths.

A clear straightforward review does work, but I feel like as we've moved further into the internet age we need that personality. You're there, but I feel more like I am hearing a story from a guy in a checkout line. It's interesting and maybe even a topic I would be interested in, but there is no real connection there except that loose basis. I think that's an area your writing suffers from in one way or another.

I think the format especially used in the Game reviews had made the flaws more transparent. You had posted or stated about how you're not an artist so you wouldn't know how to judge it, but that's also an advantage if you choose to think that way. I review music from a fan perspective despite being a collector and at one point musician. I had quit playing due to its destruction of the most consistent passion I have had in my entire life. Your vision isn't biased in a sense that will cripple your opinion and your a fan writing as a fan, often for current or potential fans.