• Xenforo Cloud has scheduled an upgrade to XenForo version 2.2.16. This will take place on or shortly after the following date and time: Jul 05, 2024 at 05:00 PM (PT) There shouldn't be any downtime, as it's just a maintenance release. More info here

Cena Thread #4,783

George Steele's Barber

Advertise Here $9.95/month
Is John Cena the new Chris Jericho? I ask this in the same way Jericho has seemingly been around for the sole purpose for the last couple of years making other guys look good. The exception being that Jericho was more prone to losing, Cena is just there to make everyone look good but he ultimately wins.

I'm not saying it is a bad thing or that "Cena sux!". Far from it. I appreciate that he is using the years of cache he has built up as the best in the business to make others look good. I'm just beginning to feel like it doesn't mean as much to make a guy look good when you just made twenty other guys also look good.

Maybe this is all leading to someone beating him cleanly and getting that one extra point (the clean win) that others haven't gotten. Maybe WWE thinks this is the best way to get the smarks off of his back while they prepare to put him back in a high profile program. Maybe this is what Cena really wants to do. Maybe this is at least more entertaining for me and I should just get out of my smark brain and try to enjoy it.

All I know is that "Not as Super Cena" feels more predictable than "Super Cena" and what felt like a huge rub for a guy like Neville and Stardust now feels more like a light pat on the back. Damned if you do, damned if you do it a little different. :shrug:

What do you think? Almost two months in to this open challenge with competitive matches - is having a competitive match with Cena making guys look better? Or should we (I.e. I) just enjoy the entertainment?