Alright, here's Marketing 101.... Or 100. I'm not a friggin professor.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pepe Silvia

Occasional Pre-Show
I've been hearing some people mention that TNA's ratings might be higher than RAW's. If TNA pulls a 2 I'll be ecstatic. Any improvement will be great, especially if the 3rd hour is higher than the 2nd. But you're leaving out the simple fact that if this broadcast was well received, one of the biggest factors won't kick in until next week.

One of the big things I actually noticed was that I'm pretty sure there weren't any MNF games on, and trust me, I looked. 4, 5, 7, Fox, ESPN, NESN, nothing. But if TNA's broadcast was a success, then one of the key points of marketing is going to kick in; word of mouth. People will be talking, telling their friends that they just watched some good shit and that they should see it too. All those people will tune in to TNA next week (Or the rerun this Thursday, for that matter) to see what was up.

So please, don't be all THIS TNA WILL HAVE 4.0 RATINGS ZOMG. It won't. Trust me. The highest I see it going would be a 2.5 for a bit, solely because of that TNA commercial during RAW, which mind you was absolutely hilarious. "HEY! WHAT ARE YOU DOING! YOU'RE MISSING THE RETURN OF HULKAMANIA!" TNA's not going to double it's ratings overnight, because new viewers can't be drawn in by something they haven't seen yet. However, there's probably a good chunk of people who know wrestling fans, and said people weren't interested enough to watch TNA or WWE to begin with. Maybe some people don't read spoiler sites and will now hear about Waltman/Hall/Hardy/Val Venis/others. Give it time, and stop expecting ratings to triple.