Why PG isn't the problem....

SilverBullet1929

Dark Match Winner
I'm quite uncomfortable with so many fans claiming that the problem with the WWE these days is the PG rating. I'm here to explain why I think that's just not the case. Let me start by noting that I've been a fan of wrestling, almost all wrestling, for over twenty years. I'm not 31 years old and I'm an elementary school teacher. My experience with kids comes into play with how I view the WWE product because while most of us just can't stand how the WWE markets to kids, I at least have actual kids to feed off of and "debate" some of these topics. This comes in handy quite a bit for me. Moving on...

The term PG stands for Parental Guidance and implies that said TV product has even the slightest edge to it. That it has some topics that are a bit higher than a regular kid can understand and it would take some Parental Guidance to help a kid comprehend it.

Why isn't PG the problem with WWE? Because the WWE was 100% PG from day one in 1963 up until 1998, mayyybe 1997. Actually, ALL wrestling was PG before that time wasn't it? Maybe some riskier ECW material wasn't but generally speaking everything was PG.

The problem folks isn't the PG rating, its the abundance of mind numbingly stupid storylines with enormous flaws in logic that insult the viewer's intelligence! Perfect example, I became a die hard fan in the early '90s... you wanna know which storyline stood out to me the most back then? Bret Hart vs Owen Hart was 200% PG! There wasn't even a drop of bloodshed in that entire storyline! But it was deep enthralling emotional television fueled by a family torn apart storyline.

You can have PG without fart jokes, midgets, and other corny garbage. Basically sometimes the WWE is G rated, and thats total garbage there.