Steve Austin - Dixie Carter Interview

Chrome

Getting Noticed By Management
WWE Hall of Famer Steve Austin interviewed TNA President Dixie Carter on the latest episode of The Steve Austin Show.
http://podcastone.com/pg/jsp/program/episode.jsp?programID=542&pid=505098

Steve Austin and Dixie Carter begin the conversation by saying "in all of these years" they've never met each other.

Dixie said that she grew up a "girly girl" but also a sports fan. She didn't participate in any athletics however because, as she put it: "If I can't be the best at something, then I don't want to do it." Dixie went to a private girls prep school and was 26 years old when she left Dallas Texas. She was a Vice President of an ad agency where was the youngest VP in company history by at least 15 years. She packed up her things "like a bad country western song" and moved to Nashville to start her career in the music industry.

Dixie describes her intelligence by saying, "I'm not a rocket scientist, but I'm not dumb. I'm like my dad who has a lot of street smarts." After college, Dixie worked for the ad agency as well as a PR firm where she had several famous clients such as Tom Hanks and Jackie Gleason. She moved to Nashville because of a specific affinity for country music. Steve asks Dixie what goes into marketing a successful country musician. Dixie says it's no different than wrestling: "Somebody may not be as great of a wrestler as the next person, but that Hulk Hogan sure turned that bit of charisma into quite a career. I think it's the same thing with Garth Brooks. I don't think Garth Brooks is the most talented vocalist out there, but he has such a talent for picking great songs and connecting."