Sam's Guide On the Basics of Making Avatars

Status
Not open for further replies.

Uncle Sam

Rear Naked Bloke
Don't mistake this for arrogance on my part, but I've noticed some common problems in some of the avatars being uploaded and I thought a simple guide might help you out. I'm by no means a graphics expert. This is a guide for Photoshop users but I think people who use GIMP or whatever might also get something out of it. It's got some general "why would you do that!?" points dispersed throughout.

Step 1:
It's 100x100, doofus!

Seems obvious, I know. If you've got a ready-made avatar that's too big, resize it. We'll go over that later though.

Step1.png

Step 2:
Makin' borders

There's too many pictures I'd have to take with this one, so just follow my explicit instructions. Create a new layer (TO MAKE SURE YOUR BORDER ISN'T ATTACHED TO THE BACKGROUND). Press Ctrl + A on your new 100x100 cube, highlighting it and getting something like this:

Borders.png

Then, and here's the tricky part, go to Edit --> Stroke.

borders-2.png

This is how you add border. Generally, you want your border to look substantial and so you want to set it to at least 2 pixels (that's the px part) thick. Unfortunately for this guide, you have a ton of options. What I do is to copy the look of the "traditional" WZ avatars. How I do it is as follows:

1) Edit --> Stroke --> Black, 3 pixels
2) Edit --> Stroke --> White, 2 pixels
3) Edit --> Stroke --> Black, 1 pixel

You can find guides for fancier borders elsewhere. Just use Google search.

Step 3:
Resizing images

Look at this Randy Savage picture - much too big to fit in 100x100 frame, right? Wrong.

macho.jpg

Because I'm going to show you how to resize it, and resize it the right way. You might have to press Ctrl + T to bring the "construction lines" up.

resizing.png