UFC 151 Cancelled

Daniel

Of Ace Stevens fame.
It's just been announced. In a nutshell, Henderson had to drop out of his match with Jon Jones. Lyoto Machida was offered Jones and said no. Chael Sonnen was offered Jones and said yes. Jones said no to Sonnen.

So it's off.

The event was scheduled for 1st September. With only eight days notice, was Jon Jones within his rights to say no to a fight? Or should a world champion (and a man who is already being spoken of as one of the greatest fighters of all-time) take on all comers at all times?

Personally, I don't what side of the fence I fall on. My knowledge of the sport, and my personal understanding of how fighters work is pretty lax. I'm still fairly new to the world of MMA. However, being someone who wants to see courage and fearlessness from fighters, I am disappointed with Jones. His decision has also stopped 21 other men from getting their pay checks - another point to think about.

But all that's by-the-by. I made this thread to read your thoughts, not to air mine.

To end this post, here are a couple of quotes from Dana White. Hot off the press (taken from UFC's Twitter feed).

• "We've never ever had a fighter refuse to fight a guy... every day, crazy shit happens, here's a new crazy one for us."
  • "Jon Jones said 'I'm not fighting Chael Sonnen on 8 days' notice.'.. a world champion turned down a fight, that's never happened."

I was absolutely floored by this announcement. It's unprecedented for the UFC under ZUFFA. I thought it was a joke to be honest with you. Once I realized this was really happening, I immediately was mad at Jon Jones, but after thinking it over, I blame this completely on Dana White & Joe Silva.