The Geritol Generation Report by Mean Gene Roberts

What is needed to help revive wrestling?

• More ring time, less skits and promos.

• More skits and promos, less ring time.

• It's fine as is, don't change a thing.

• More realism.

Results are only viewable after voting.

mean_gene_roberts

Occasional Pre-Show
Hello and welcome to one and all to this old farts point of view. Sit back, pop-a-top on your favorite beverage and relax.

Before I dive in head first, let me state a couple of semi-obvious things. I’m older than your “average” fan. I have no insider knowledge to share. I don’t know any performers on a first name basis nor do I exchange Christmas cards with them. There will be things I say you may agree with and others that will make you think I must have developed premature Alzheimer’s. I’m just doing this because I love pro wrestling in all its incarnations and have down through the last 45+ years.

First, wrestling is not real.

Second, wrestling is real.

Most all the performers get along just great behind the curtains. Often it’s reported here on WZ that a couple of wrestlers, such as HHH and Orton arrive in the same car at the arena. Then, they go to the ring, beat the hell out of each other for 5 to 30 minutes, leave the building together and have a few beers before going to the next town and doing it all over again.

In the sense that they are in the ring for 5 to 30 minutes and take a few good bumps and maybe even bleed, it is real. Of course, we all have that figured out by now except for the pre-schoolers begging mommy for the new John Cena t-shirt.

These men and women make a lot of sacrifices for us the fans. Its real in that respect as well. Some have even given their lives, as Owen Hart did, just to entertain us while we cuss or cheer them.