• Xenforo Cloud has scheduled an upgrade to XenForo version 2.2.16. This will take place on or shortly after the following date and time: Jul 05, 2024 at 05:00 PM (PT) There shouldn't be any downtime, as it's just a maintenance release. More info here

Is peaceful protest pointless?

Tastycles

Turn Bayley heel
As a student, I can't go about 5 minutes without being asked to sign a petition or join a march or something like that. It's very now to protest against everything in this country, but it never works. 1 million people marched through London and 7 million did across the country to make us leave Iraq and absolutely nothing happened.

The level of support against Vietnam in the 70s was also huge, and yet nothing happened there either. So it got me thinking, has peaceful protest acheived anything? The only examples I could think of in recent British and American history were the suffragettes, Gandhi and the civil rights movement. The suffragettes' most famous exploits though involved quite physical stunts and they only got the vote because they had worked during the war. Gandhi freed India, largely because India was costing Britain in the wake of the Second World War, and again Independance was a thank you for the Indian effort there.

We're then left with the Civil Rights movement, which I don't know enough about to comment further, but certainly did have some aggression to it. It's probably justmy apathy shining through, but it seems to me that if you want to get something done, you have to go for the jugular. Am I wrong? Can peaceful protest acheive something? I kind of hope I am, really.

Although I don't think we should ever be denied the right to protest, I do think that most of the time it is pointless.

Many times, protests do the opposite affect of what the protestors want. When people see you marching down the street in a semi-riotous status, they're going to be less likely to identify with you.