Does ROH = ECW?

TUFFY54

Getting Noticed By Management
I've been hearing about Ring of Honor for a few years now and stared watching a few months ago. I think it's a great little promotion that puts on a good wrestling show. They have some great talent and the story lines are very well written. Unfortunately, I think their best days are already behind them. Its due to something called the ECW syndrome.

To understand this we have to take a look back at ECW. Twelve years ago there were three major wrestling companies on TV. WWF was at the top of the heap, WCW was good but considered second best by many, and ECW was an exciting small promotion with hardcore fans that got almost zero mainstream press and was hard to even find of TV. ECW had four types of wrestlers: guys that were going to leave for the WWF, guys that were going to leave for WCW, guys that the fans liked but didnt have the talent or appeal to wrestle elsewhere, and guys past there prime that had been in the WWF or WCW before. Paul Heyman ran ECW, and from a purely wrestling standpoint he ran it very well. He obviously had problems with business, but thats an issue I'm not going to focus on here. Pauls problem was simple, he was always going to be the little guy, and there was nothing he could do about it. He was in one of the worst situations in the history of the wrestling business. As soon as he got someone over with the fans, they left. It got to the point were the ECW champion was always on borrowed time. Over a five year period, of the top 20 or so guys in his company, maybe 3 guys with something to offer didn't jump. Three years after ECW really exploded on the wrestling scene, almost every guy that got them there had left. In the end he hardly had a single ECW star that people wanted to see and the company went out of business with a wimper.