Albums That Showcased Maturity

HailTheGillberg

Dark Match Jobber
Forgive me if my post doesn't adhere to all of the forum guidelines, as this is my first time posting.

Many of us have witnessed the major label debut of an up-and-coming band that either brings forth a style and sound that catches us off guard, or is just very pleasing to our unique set of ears. There have been instances where bands have taken what made them famous and built their careers around it. In many cases, however, a band will re-invent itself for various reasons (including the expansion of their fan-base).

It is often during these periods of reinvention that we see a band show signs of maturity, whether it's through increasing the complexity of their songs or simply adding an extra element to their performances. With that in mind, I ask you to name an album that showcased maturity for a particular band and explain why.

I will start off by saying that These Days by Bon Jovi stands out to me among many releases. Anyone who knows the history of Bon Jovi knows that they made their mark by connecting with their audience through an array of stadium anthems (some of which are still massively popular even in today's era). "These Days" demonstrated that Bon Jovi has the ability to connect with their fans on a much deeper level. Unlike its predecessors, this album didn't make its connection through energy and uplift, but through brutal honesty. I suppose the dark, non-commercial tone of this 90's release is part of why it remains unknown to many casual listeners.

I look forward to your responses!

Blink 182 and their last album the untitled one back in 2003 was very mature and nothing like their previous stuff. It was sort of a dark but still had some pop stuff on it album that I enjoyed and now that they are back and releasing a new album soon I expect it to be very similar to the last one and not like their early but classic to me obnoxious punk stuff but who know with them lol