The Technology Troubleshooting Thread

Discussion in 'The Media Hub' started by Slyfox696, Dec 7, 2008.

  1. Slyfox696

    Slyfox696 Excellence of Execution

    Joined:
    May 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,384
    Likes Received:
    2,408
    Use the UK Amazon site? http://www.amazon.co.uk

    And here's a search for PS3:

    http://www.amazon.co.uk/s/ref=nb_sb...search-alias=aps&field-keywords=playstation+3


    If you order from their UK site and they send you a NTSC console, I'd be very surprised.
     
    #651
  2. ABMorales787

    ABMorales787 Lord And Master
    Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    Messages:
    3,286
    Likes Received:
    2,812
    Photoshop keeps closing up on me abruptly when working on it. Not to mention there are occasions when searching on my folders for pictures, it crashes along with Windows Explorer. I at one point uninstalled CS6 and went with CS3 but the problem still persists.
     
    #652
  3. Slyfox696

    Slyfox696 Excellence of Execution

    Joined:
    May 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,384
    Likes Received:
    2,408
    That is extremely strange. Do you have any other programs which abruptly close or is it just Adobe?
     
    #653
  4. ABMorales787

    ABMorales787 Lord And Master
    Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    Messages:
    3,286
    Likes Received:
    2,812
    Firefox was doing it too. I defragmented the hard drive and cleaned up unnecessary files and so far everything is fine. But it's not the first time that happens.
     
    #654
  5. Slyfox696

    Slyfox696 Excellence of Execution

    Joined:
    May 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,384
    Likes Received:
    2,408
    If it happens to other programs, it could be a wide range of problems. As always, first make sure you're anti-malware software is up to date and your system is clean. The next thing I'd try is defragging hard drive (which you did). If that still didn't fix the problem, make sure you have free hard drive space (a full hard drive could cause problems). Finally (without looking at it personally), I'd run a memory test, and make sure your RAM isn't going bad.
     
    #655
  6. supernatural1981

    supernatural1981 Pre-Show Stalwart

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    16
    i recently bought a xbox360 second hand and was told its not able to be used online????

    what does this mean
     
    #656
  7. Reflection

    Reflection is a happier and wiser man

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2011
    Messages:
    855
    Likes Received:
    371
    I had a few downloads on u-torrent; the download was incomplete in one of them. It was a movie file; so as we know, the movie file/torrent consists of the main movie, a preview, subtitles, a .txt note crediting the website etc. One fine day, I woke up, and all the files are gone! By gone, I mean they are in the hard disk, but u-torrent's download list is empty and looks like this [​IMG] Now I'm not worried about the ones where downloads were complete; I'm worried about that movie which was at 80% and I have no idea how to add it back :(
    Do I have to search web pages for that very .torrent file an enqueue it back on u-torrent, or is there any way I can re-add the .avi file and its associate files back on u-torrent directly? Please Help!
    Btw, u-torrent forums is the worst software help/community forum I've seen in my life. The people there say "Uninstall u-torrent and then reinstall it" to almost all the user queries. Its like another way of saying "I don't know".
     
    #657
  8. Danger Burger

    Danger Burger Thread Killer

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    475
    If you download the same torrent file (using your browser history might help? Or it could simply be in your downloads or temp files.) the programme has a system where it re-checks the file to see what's already there. Near the .avi or whatever would be a file that tells your UTorrent whats already there etc. There is also a "Force Re-Check" option if you right click the torrent in the UTorrent browser. Hope that helps some!
     
    #658
    Reflection likes this.
  9. Reflection

    Reflection is a happier and wiser man

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2011
    Messages:
    855
    Likes Received:
    371
    I spent about half an hour searching for that particular .torrent file on the net, abut couldn't find it anywhere. Then I decided to do a search of the PC for it (even though I was certain it won't be there), and luckily the search found it in the 'application data' of u-torrent. Double-clicking it brought it back on the download list :) Thanks for the help.
     
    #659
    Danger Burger likes this.
  10. Akhilleus

    Akhilleus Getting Noticed By Management

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2012
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    126
    I've been using the Microsoft Wireless Mobile Mouse 3500 on my Toshiba Satellite C655 laptop for a couple of years now, and it's worked fine. But recently I've had a few troubles with it, and despite my best efforts to try to find the problem or even a decent enough troubleshooting guide, I have failed to no avail.

    I'm using Windows 7. The 3500 mouse comes with a very small usb chip that plugs into the computer, and it takes a single battery. When it turns on you can see a blue light at the bottom, as well as a small green light at the top. Just a week ago the mouse started working, and I assumed the battery had died. I had some old batteries that I tried putting in, but they did not work. I figured it was because they were old, but after purchasing a new pack of Double As and putting one into the mouse, it still does not work. It keeps doing the same thing, the green light shows up at the top and the blue light is on at the bottom, but after five seconds the green light goes dark.

    I've checked my device settings and the wireless mouse isn't even being recognized by my computer. I'm most definitely sure that there problems traces back to the USB drive or port, as the blue light on the bottom of the mouse still works while the battery is in and the mouse is on.

    Does anyone have any knowledge on how I can solve this without having to buy a new mouse? I'm not a big fan of the touchpad, but I can settle with it. Sooner or later though I'm probably just going to have to fork over $30 bucks for a new wireless mouse.
     
    #660
  11. Nate DaMac

    Nate DaMac Fuck erbody but me

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,548
    Likes Received:
    2,611
    Are there any ad blocking programs for Androids? This site is fucking impossible to use with the constant Verizon ads. Also, any time I open a thread that has a Youtube video embedded, my phone opens up my utorrent app. Any idea why that happens?
     
    #661
  12. Slyfox696

    Slyfox696 Excellence of Execution

    Joined:
    May 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,384
    Likes Received:
    2,408
    Before you buy one, try your mouse in a different computer. It likely is your mouse going bad, but exhaust all possibilities if you're really wanting to avoid buying a new one.

    I believe Adblock Plus for Firefox works on Android.

    Sounds like you set it as default on your device. Here's some information on how to check it out:

    http://blog.laptopmag.com/how-to-change-default-apps-in-android
     
    #662
    Akhilleus likes this.
  13. therockiswwf

    therockiswwf The voice of Michael Cole's headset

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    219
    Dell Inspiron N5030, Windows 7 Home Premium Edition

    *

    So my brother had a download popup message every time he used his web browsers and he accidentally clicked on it (he has no idea what could have caused it to appear/what it was). Ever since his computer has been extremely slow (around 25 minute boot time, web browsers take awhile to open, etc). I have run multiple anti-malware and antivirus stuff as I have an okay knowledge how to use a lot of those types of programs and have seen only minimal improvement.

    I have removed a lot of PUPs (mostly toolbar related) and a few PUMs. Have found no viruses so far.

    *

    The only thing I haven't been able to remove is a folder called boost_interprocess located in C:\Program Data\boost_interprocess

    *

    I am at my wits end as I have exhausted every program I know how to use.

    *

    Programs I used

    ESET Scanner - Removed 3 items

    Adwcleaner - Removed a lot of items

    Malwarebytes - Removed a lot of items

    Hitman Pro - Removed 133 items (mostly of something called Rocketfuel)

    Junkware Removal Tool - Removed 1 item

    Something else I can't remember removed 7 PUMs

    MSE - Found no viruses on two scans

    Any other programs you can suggest?

    *

    Found an error message reporting that SATA Port 0 is at risk. What is that and can that slow down the computer tremendously?
     
    #663
  14. Slyfox696

    Slyfox696 Excellence of Execution

    Joined:
    May 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,384
    Likes Received:
    2,408
    When you keep running virus scans are you still finding problems?

    If no:

    Run a Disk Defrag on your C: drive and see if that speeds up the computer greatly. All of those files being written and deleted could really scatter data across your hard disk, slowing the computer down greatly.

    If yes: Follow these instructions.

    1) Download Trinity Rescue Kit

    2. Download and install ImgBurn

    3. Use ImgBurn to burn the Trinity Rescue Kit .iso file to a CD (when opening ImgBurn, choose the option "burn image to disc".

    4. Put the new Trinity Rescue Kit CD into your brother computer and restart computer.

    5. Go into BIOS and change your Boot Order to having the CD-Rom boot before your hard drive. Save BIOS settings and exit BIOS.

    6. Run Avast Virus Scan in Trinity Rescue Kit. Clean errors.


    It might help if you can put an Ethernet cable into the computer before booting TRK.
     
    #664
  15. therockiswwf

    therockiswwf The voice of Michael Cole's headset

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    219
    It was 4% fragmented. Ran it, no improvements.

    No viruses detected on three scans since this started.
     
    #665
  16. Slyfox696

    Slyfox696 Excellence of Execution

    Joined:
    May 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,384
    Likes Received:
    2,408
    Have you run a virus scan in Safe Mode? You might try running the virus scan in Trinity Rescue Kit anyways...sometimes malware can hide itself during the boot process. Using Trinity Rescue Kit, it won't be able to run.
     
    #666
  17. One Punch Doug Crashin

    One Punch Doug Crashin I AM INVINSIBLE!

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    382

    If it's modded you can't use it online, if it isn't, there really isn't any reason why you shouldn't be able to use it online. Just make sure they deleted everything off of the hard drive, and then transfer your gamertag.
     
    #667
    Akhilleus likes this.
  18. therockiswwf

    therockiswwf The voice of Michael Cole's headset

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    219
    I forgot about this. I found out it has a hardware problem and not a virus problem. Thanks for your help though
     
    #668
  19. One Punch Doug Crashin

    One Punch Doug Crashin I AM INVINSIBLE!

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    382
    The guys who made AdBock Plus for Firefox and Chrome have made one for Android. Soon as I found it I downloaded it and installed it. Works like a charm.
     
    #669
  20. Alex

    Alex King Of The Wasteland

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,604
    Likes Received:
    755
    Is there a possible free font creator program for Windows at all??
     
    #670
  21. Blade

    Blade "Original Blade"

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    1,833
    Likes Received:
    1,227
    So, I got a new charger today for my HP Pavilion. I used it for a few hours without any problems. But over the last couple of hours, my laptop has started giving me pretty significant electrical shocks when I touch the sides and certain keys.

    Is this a problem with the charger and its grounding? Or is it possible that it's a problem with the laptop itself?

    Typing with rubber gloves on is tricky...

    EDIT: Just to clarify, I've never gotten a shock from my laptop before today. I've had it for two years and I've used 3 different chargers over those years, and I've never had this problem. And it's not HP brand charger.
     
    #671
  22. Slyfox696

    Slyfox696 Excellence of Execution

    Joined:
    May 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,384
    Likes Received:
    2,408
    Do you still get the shocks when you unplug your laptop from the charger?
     
    #672
  23. Blade

    Blade "Original Blade"

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    1,833
    Likes Received:
    1,227
    No. The same process happened again today. I had it plugged in for a few hours, it was fine. But I eventually started getting shocks again. It seems to be that if it's plugged in for too long, it starts shocking me.

    But again, I'm not entirely sure if it's a problem with the charger or the laptop. I know laptops can get damaged when they spend too much time plugged in.
     
    #673
  24. Slyfox696

    Slyfox696 Excellence of Execution

    Joined:
    May 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,384
    Likes Received:
    2,408
    I've never been shocked by a laptop that's been plugged in. And if it's not happening when it's not plugged in, and it didn't happen with your old charger, I think you know where the problem lies.
     
    #674
  25. nightmare

    nightmare ...7, 8, Better stay up late...

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,271
    Likes Received:
    1,060
    I have an issue with random web pages loading correctly. Mostly on two specific pages, but once in a while it will happen on others albeit less frequently. The pages will load white screen, text only, all left aligned. It happens in the incognito window as well as alternate browsers (chrome & explorer). I have tried deleting all cache\cookies, running CC Cleaner & even deleted Chrome & re-installed. Still having the issue. Not sure what else to do or what would cause the issue.


    Any ideas on how to fix?
     
    #675

Share This Page

monitoring_string = "afb8e5d7348ab9e99f73cba908f10802"